Wednesday, February 16, 2011

India Won By 117 Runs Vs New Zealand 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup Warm Up Match

MS Dhoni Strikes Once Again With Smashing Century 

India won by 117 runs, Indian skipper Dhoni and Suresh Raina hard hitting proved costly. India vs New Zealand (Ind vs NZ) ICC World Cup 2011 warm up match was kicked off at Chidambram stadium, Chepak, Chennai on 16th February.

Score and Highlights: India 360/5 (50.0 overs) MS Dhoni 108* and J Oram 2/64. New Zealand 243/10 (43.1 overs) Brendon McCullum 58 and Harbhajan Singh 2/17.

India won the toss and decided to bat first. Virender Sehwag and Sachin opened the Indian innings and given decent start but both were dismissed in short time. Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kholi added century run stand. Gambhir missed out an opportunity of scoring century. Suresh and MS Dhoni shifted the gears and started scoring quickly in final overs.  Indian Captain MS Dhoni century and Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kholi and Suresh Raina half centuries helped India to impose huge total of 360.

MS Dhoni (108)* is the top scorer from India. Gautam Gambhir (89), Virat Kholi (55), Suresh Raina (50), Virender Sehwag (23) and Sachin Tendulkar (17) are the rest of performers.

New Zealand bowling attack, no specialist spinner in playing eleven and spinners like Nathan McCullum inexperience was cashed in by Indian batsmen. New Zealand bowlers, Tim Southee and Jacob Oram shared two wickets each and Kyle Mills had one wicket against his name.

New Zealand chasing huge total of 361 runs to win, they got a good start they were scoring five runs per over which was insufficient. The top three batsmen have scored some runs along with Brendon McCullum scoring half century and no other batsman had a real intent of winning the match. Positive sign for kiwis is that their top order scoring runs and middle inexperience is evident.

New Zealand scorecard: Martin Guptill (38), Brendon McCullum (58), Jesse Ryder (32), Ross Taylor (5), James Franklin (0), Scott Styris (20), Jamie How (15), Jacob Oram (12), Nathan McCullum (29)*, L Woodcock (9) and Kyle Mills (2).

Indian bowling attack, fast bowlers were not able to pick the wickets until spinners were introduced. Suresh Raina is the first wicket taker with his athletic fielding, spinners picked up seven wickets in the tally of ten. Ashish Nehra cleaned by the tail by dislodging last two wickets.

Indian bowlers, Ashish Nehra, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh and Yuvraj Singh have taken two wickets each and R Ashwin has settled with one wicket each.


Post a Comment