Saturday, March 5, 2011


AT M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, cricket spectators watched two high voltage dramas in the last week. First, in-spite of scoring 338 runs, India tied their match against England on Sunday, February 27. Next, on March 2, Ireland upset the English team by three wickets after chasing the Cricket World Cup record of 327 runs. The Irish batsman Kevin O'Brien scored the fastest 100 in world cups in just 50 deliveries.

MS Dhoni-led Indian team won the inaugural match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 against Bangladesh by 87 runs. Team India is in third place in the points table after South Africa and West Indies in group 'B', whereas the Irish team is in the fifth spot with one victory.

Indian bowling attack is one of the biggest obstacles for team India to lift ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 trophy. In the last two matches, main weapons in the bowling department Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh and Munaf Patel conceded 321 runs for 13 wickets.

Meanwhile, Indian batsman scored more than 330 runs on both the occasions, however, during the last match against England, team India lost their last seven wickets for just 33 runs in four overs. Indian fielding is also a big concern for the team management. In this area Indians need to improve a lot.

Ireland started their ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 campaign with a loss against Bangladesh. In the next match they beat England. Prior to the World Cup, the Irish team lost to New Zealand by 32 runs and beat Zimbabwe by four wickets in the warm-up matches. Their batting is mainly dependent on O'Brien brothers (Kevin and Niall O'Brien), Ed Joyce and John Mooney.

Once again, if Dhoni will win the toss at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, he will likely to decide bat first. Once again Indian batsmen will set a huge target for the Irish batsmen in the 22nd match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. Dhoni will likely to play with the same team who had played against England.

Indian and Ireland squads for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011:

India: MS Dhoni (capt/wk), Virender Sehwag(vice capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, R. Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Munaf Patel and S. Sreesanth.

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Trent Johnston, Alex Cusack, Andre Botha, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wk), Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, John Mooney, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson (wk), George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Albert van der Merwe, Andrew White.

Visit  here to See  Cricket World Cup Records


I like your blog and i am impressed with your informational posts so i also want to share my blog with you

For Cricket World CUP 2011 details and schedule please visit

Post a Comment